Notes allow you to capture thoughts, sermon insights, study questions, and other observations while reading the Bible or a book. You can create notes linked to a verse/passage or selected text, or create standalone notes that aren't associated with a Bible or book.
Types of Notes
There are two ways to create notes while reading:
- Verse-Based Notes: These notes are linked to a verse and appear across all downloaded Bible translations.
- Word-Based Notes: These notes are linked to selected text and remain associated with the specific Bible or book where they were created.
Creating Notes
The most common way to create a note is while reading.
Tap a verse number or select some text.
Tap Note from the popup menu.
You can also create a standalone note that isn't associated with a Bible or book from the Menu or the Study Center.
From the Menu
Tap the + icon, then select the note icon.
From the Study Center
Tap the '+' icon then select the note icon.
Editing Notes
You can open a note from the Notes list or by tapping the note icon next to the Bible text where the note was created.
Once a note is open, you can:
- Back - Tap the back arrow to return to the previous screen.
- Reference - Tap the verse reference to navigate to the linked Bible text.
- Note Body - Tap anywhere in the note to begin editing. Bible references entered in the note are automatically linked. If you'd like additional formatting options such as bold, italics, underline, and more, see our Enhanced Notes feature.
- Tags - Tap Edit Tags to create a tag, or tap an existing tag to view other annotations with the same tag.
- Note Icon - Tap the note icon to change the icon used for the note.
- Category - Choose the category where the note will appear.
- Created / Updated - View when the note was created and last updated.
-
Options - Tap the Options icon to access additional note features:
- Edit Title
- Edit Tags
- Change Category
- Change Icon
- Font Size
- Share
- Open in Split Window
- Open Full Screen (tablet only)
- Delete
Sharing Notes
You can share a note with other apps on your device.
Open a note.
Tap the Options icon, then tap Share.
Select the app you'd like to share the note with.
Deleting Notes
From an Open Note
Open the note.
Tap the Options icon and tap Delete.
Deleted notes cannot be recovered. Tap OK to confirm the deletion.
From the Notes List
Tap and hold the note you want to delete, and tap Delete.
Deleted notes cannot be recovered. Tap OK to confirm the deletion.
We hope this article was helpful. If you have any questions or need additional assistance, please contact our Customer Support team.