Notes allow you to capture thoughts, sermon insights, study questions, and other observations while reading the Bible or a book. You can create notes linked to a verse/passage or selected text, or create standalone notes that aren't associated with a Bible or book.
Types of Notes
There are two ways to create notes while reading:
- Verse-Based Notes: These notes are linked to a verse and appear across all downloaded Bible translations.
- Word-Based Notes: These notes are linked to selected text and remain associated with the specific Bible or book where they were created.
Creating Notes
The most common way to create a note is while reading.
Select a verse number, or select text and then secondary-click the selected text (or hold Control and click).
Select Note or Add Note.
You can also create a standalone note that isn't associated with a Bible or book from the sidebar or the Study Center.
From the Sidebar
Ensure your sidebar is open. The sidebar can be toggled by selecting this icon:
From the Study Center
Select the Study Center icon to open the Study Center.
Editing Notes
You can open a note from the Notes list in the sidebar or by selecting the note icon next to the Bible text where the note was created.
Once a note is open, you can:
- Title - Select the title to rename the note.
- Reference - Select the verse reference to navigate to the linked Bible text.
- Note Body - Select anywhere in the note to begin editing. Bible references entered in the note are automatically linked. If you'd like additional formatting options such as bold, italics, underline, and more, see our Enhanced Notes feature.
- Tags - Select + Add Tag to create a tag, or select an existing tag to view other annotations with the same tag.
- Open in Floating Window - Select this icon to move the note to a floating window. This allows a larger space to work on the note and keeps the note open until the floating window is closed.
-
Options - Select the Options icon to access additional note features:
- Delete Note
- Change Category
- Change Icon
- Share
- Full Screen (only available if the note is open in a popup window)
- Find and Replace
- Font Face
- Font Size
Sharing Notes
You can share a note with other applications on your device.
Select a note.
Select the Options icon in the upper right corner.
Select the application you'd like to share the note with.
Deleting Notes
From an Open Note
Open the note.
Select the Options icon and select Delete Note.
Deleted notes cannot be recovered. Select Delete Note to confirm the deletion.
From the Notes List
Ensure your sidebar is open. The sidebar can be toggled by selecting this icon:
Locate the note you want to delete.
Secondary-click the note (or hold Control and click), then select Delete.
Deleted notes cannot be recovered. Select Delete Note to confirm the deletion.
We hope this article was helpful. If you have any questions or need additional assistance, please contact our Customer Support team.