iPhone/iPad - Saved Passages

Saved passages are a useful tool as you study the Bible and come across a verse or phrase you want to save for future reference. Adding a saved passage allows you to "bookmark" a verse without adding additional marking to the text like you would with a note or highlight. 

Verse or Text Based

There are two ways to create saved passages within our app: by selecting a word or phrase (word based) or by tapping on a verse number (verse based). Saved passages are always associated with the Bible translation they were added in regardless of the method used to create them.

Create a Saved Passage

You can create a saved passage when you're viewing text in your app. As mentioned above, saved passages can be tied either to a verse or a word or phrase. Here are the steps to create a saved passage:

  • Tap a verse number or select text and then select 'Save' in the pop-up menu.

1_Tap_Verse_Save.PNG

2_Select_Text_Save.PNG

  • In the Save Passage popup that appears, you can tap 'Tags' or 'Change Category' to assign any desired tags or categories to the saved passage. You can also tap in the text field to give the saved passage a different title than the text that is pre-populated. When you're finished, tap 'Done' to create the saved passage.

3_Saved_Passage_Popup.png

Edit a Saved Passage

Once you have created a saved passage, you can find it in the Menu under Saved Passages.

  • Tap the Menu icon in the upper right corner.

4_Screenshot_Menu.PNG

  • Tap 'Saved Passages'.

5_Saved_Passages_Men8.PNG

  • Locate the individual saved passage you want to edit and tap the 'i' icon next to it.

6_i_icon.PNG

Here you can change the title ('label'), assign the saved passage to a category, and add or edit the tags. There are two different ways to make these changes.

Option 1:

  • The first option is to open the Settings for the Saved Passage. Tap the Settings icon in the upper right corner of the menu to access options to either 'Delete Saved Passage', 'Edit Tags', 'Change Category', or 'Edit Title.'

7_Settings_Saved_Passage.PNG

Option 2:

The second option is to select the field you wish to edit.

  • Tap in the box that says 'Label' and delete and re-enter the title.

8_Label.PNG

  • Tap Category to assign the saved passage to a category. 

9_Category.PNG

  • Tap '+ Add Tag' to add a tag.

10_Add_Tag.PNG

Delete Saved Passage

You can delete a saved passage by following these steps:

  • Tap the Menu icon in the upper right corner.

4_Screenshot_Menu.PNG

  • Tapped Saved Passages.

5_Saved_Passages_Men8.PNG

  • Locate the saved passage you want to delete.
  • Swipe from right to left on the Saved Passage and select the 'Delete' button.

11_Swipe_Delete.jpg

  • Confirm that you would like to delete the saved passage.

12_Saved_Passage_Delete_Confirmation.png

We hope this article has been helpful for you. If you have any further questions about saved passages, please submit a ticket to our Customer Support team. We are happy to help you!

Have more questions? Submit a request